### **DRAFT**

Note: These Minutes will remain DRAFT until approved at the next meeting of the Committee

# COUNCIL MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON

# THURSDAY, 20 JULY 2023

Councillors Present: Owen Jeffery, Antony Amirtharaj, Phil Barnett, Dennis Benneyworth, Jeff Brooks. Nick Carter. Patrick Clark, Heather Codling, Martin Colston, Jeremy Cottam lain Cottingham, Laura Coyle, Carolyne Culver, Paul Dick, (Chairman), Lee Dillon. Stuart Gourley, Clive Hooker, Adrian Abbs, Jane Langford, Janine Lewis, Denise Gaines. Biyi Oloko, Ross Mackinnon, Alan Macro, David Marsh, Geoff Mayes Zoom), (Via Justin Pemberton. Vicky Poole (Via Zoom), Christopher Read, Richard Somner, Stephanie Steevenson, Joanne Stewart, Louise Sturgess. Clive Taylor, Martha Vickers. Tony Vickers and Howard Woollaston

Also Present: Nigel Lynn (Chief Executive), Joseph Holmes (Executive Director - Resources), Eric Owens (Service Director - Development & Regulation), Sarah Clarke (Service Director (Strategy and Governance) and Paul Coe (Interim Executive Director – People), Stephen Chard (Democratic Services Manager), Honorary Alderman Brian Bedwell (Honorary Alderman), Honorary Alderman Graham Jones (Honorary Alderman), Honorary Alderman Anthony Stansfeld (Honorary Alderman), Honorary Alderman Quentin Webb (Honorary Alderman) and David Cook (Principal Democratic Services Officer).

**Apologies for inability to attend the meeting:** Honorary Alderman Paul Bryant, Honorary Alderman Adrian Edwards, Councillor Dominic Boeck, Councillor Billy Drummond, Councillor Nigel Foot, Councillor Paul Kander, Councillor Erik Pattenden and Councillor Matt Shakespeare.

#### **PARTI**

#### 1. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest received.

## 2. Honorary Aldermen Nominations

Council considered Agenda Item 2 which was proposed by Councillor Ross Mackinnon that a number of retired or no longer serving Councillors be conferred the title of Honorary Alderman in recognition of their eminent service rendered on behalf of the Council and residents of West Berkshire over a period of time.

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the extraordinary Council meeting and to Honorary Aldermen in attendance and those being nominated tonight.

**MOTION:** Proposed by Councillor Ross Mackinnon and seconded by Councillor Lee Dillon:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors listed in Appendix A for the reasons contained therein."

The Chairman welcomed comments from the floor on the proposed nominations.

Councillor Howard Woollaston said about former Councillor Jeff Beck that he had been a Councillor for 19 years in total and had recently decided to retire gratefully at the local

#### **COUNCIL - 20 JULY 2023 - MINUTES**

elections. As well as being Chairman of West Berkshire Council in 2014 and Chairman of many committees, and a Newbury Town Councillor he would also be remembered best for his work as ward member where he worked tirelessly representing his residents. His words of wisdom would be missed.

Councillor Ross Mackinnon said about former Councillor Graham Bridgman that he was a great friend as well as colleague and he showed great leadership as Deputy Leader of Council during the pandemic. The Leader appreciated his support during those times. Graham was all about the detail, which was not surprising given his legal background before entering politics. He had been an effective Councillor, Committee Chairman and Portfolio Holder and his presence would be missed.

Councillor Joanne Stewart said about former Councillor Hillary Cole that she had served as an elected member for a total of 16 years during which she had held many important positions including Vice-Chairman, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for a number of areas. She had been a dedicated councillor with a great deal of experience and knowledge, always striving to do the best for her residents.

Councillor Richard Somner said that it was unfortunate that former councillor Rick Jones could not be present today due to illness. He had served as a councillor for 9 years and in that time had been the Vice-Chairman, held many portfolio positions, committee chairman and for his final year an effective Chairman of Council. He wished Mr Jones a quick recovery.

Councillor Somner also addressed Council about former Councillor Alan Law. He said that his first recollection of Councillor Law was during his first term as a councillor, about half way through Alan's terms, on planning issues that Alan Law was an advocate. Alan Law had held many positions including a variety of Portfolio Positions and Chairmanships during his 16 years as a councillor. They had held many positions the same and he was pleased to support the nomination.

Councillor Howard Woollaston said about former Councillor Gordon Lundie that he had a long political career in West Berkshire representing Lambourn Valley. During his 16 years as a Councillor, he had success as an advocate for transformation, being a Portfolio Holder and Leader of Council. He had helped transform the Council and the Portfolio he held. He did the right things for the Council, improving outcomes for residents.

Councillor Joanne Stewart said that it was a remarkable achievement that Former Councillor Tony Linden had been a Councillor for 35 years representing his residents with due diligence. They had been supportive of each other during their periods of Councillors, and he had been pleased to have received commendation from his role as Councillor representative on the Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service. His nomination was well deserved.

Councillor Ross Mackinnon said that former Councillor Graham Pask had represented his residents for over 36 years and had provided guidance to himself and many colleagues. He had held the Chairmanship of Council for two terms as well as many Portfolio positions, and many Chairmanships roles. He was an excellent advocate for the role of a councillor, and he wished him and his supportive family all the best. The nomination was well deserved.

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly **RESOLVED**.

# COUNCIL - 20 JULY 2023 - MINUTES

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 7.31 pm)	
CHAIRMAN	
Date of Signature	